Testimonials

Please read what our customers think of our fish & chips.......... 


Guardian recommends fish & chips from The Old Keswickian.

Click on article to read.

<small>The Guardian website includes recommendation for fish and chips from The Old Keswickian. </small>
The Guardian website includes recommendation for fish and chips from The Old Keswickian.

 

The Best of British in the Lake District

(CUMBRIA TOURISM BLOG)

The Lake District is home to some quintessentially British experiences.  Here is a list of the ten best of British.

Cumbria’s traditional fish and chip shops are a celebration of all that’s wonderful about British beach-side cuisine.  The Old Keswickian in Keswick has become a bit of a landmark over the years and prides itself on sourcing many of its ingredients locally and the Arnside Chip Shop, perfectly situated for a peaceful seaside stroll, boasts the title of South Lakeland Chip Shop of the Year. www.oldkeswickian.co.uk 

 
“Best for real Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A great place to eat, or takeaway with traditional fish & chips and a whole host of other menu options at a reasonable price. Staff were really friendly.

  • Visited December 2016
 
“Excellent meal, superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

A must stop for fish and chip lovers. The food was excellent and I really enjoyed my fish goujons and chips. The service was fantastic and they were so friendly. They allowed us to leave our pushchair downstairs and quickly got us a high chair for our daughter.
Lovely visit as always.

Visited December 2016
 
“The Gold standard for fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016

Last visited this place three years ago, and the second time was every bit as good as the first!
The upstairs restaurant has been updated somewhat since our last visit, it's clean, airy and comfortable. Service is very friendly, helpful and prompt. As the food is brought up from the downstairs takeaway section, it arrives quickly after you've ordered.
The quality of the fish and chips is outstanding, I reiterate my earlier review, it's the best I've had anywhere. Light crispy batter, tasty fish and perfectly cooked chips, with a generous portion of mushy peas too. My wife had the steak and mushroom pie and pronounced it to be excellent.
Including drinks, a meal for two comes in at a shade under £20. This is a place against which all other fish and chip restaurants should be judged, but it will always come out on top - the Gold standard!

  • Visited December 2016
“A Lake District Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles

We've enjoyed fish and chips here for over 35 years and it is always a favourite. Eat in upstairs, although it shuts about 8.30pm in the evening, or take away downstairs. After a 6+ hour hike on the fells the thought of fish and chips later keeps you going. Took our daughter's Australian boyfriend here and he said it was the best fish and chips he'd ever had.

Visited October 2016


“Oh yes!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles

Why do I miss the North so much? Friendly people, slower pace, great beer and flipping fantastic fish ('n' clearly crispy chips!). The queues are out the door and round the corner here, no change in quality in years, so a fair guarantee that you get a great deal here every time.

Visited October 2016
 
"Fantastic"
 
Reviewed 2 November 2015 NEW

The best Fish and Chips in Keswick tried other but always return here. Have eaten in restaurant and takeaway and would recommend both.

 23 OCTOBER 2015 Email
 
 Just to let you know we visited your restaurant for tea on Sunday 23rd Oct, we enjoyed our meal and please pass on our thanks to your Staff, don't know names, but they where very friendly and pleasant. The service was fast and food was first class. Thanks again, we will be back. Best regards Ray Gregory
 
 
"Best chippie in Keswick,    end of "
 
Reviewed 1 November 2015 NEW

Visited after my son stated "these are the best Fish and Chips in Keswick". He ain't wrong. Now i have visited a lot of chippies in my time, as a roadworker in my younger days i had a fair amount of fish and chips in my time but, these are the best i have ever tasted. The chips are out of this world. That good in fact that we had a cone of chips everyday.

 "Light and crispy"

Reviewed 29 October 2015

There are so many chippies about but good ones are hard to find. Here at the old keswickian you won't be disappointed , the batter is light and crispy . The cod is not over cooked and the chips aren't powdery . Service is great , can't fault a thing

 

"Crispy"
 
Reviewed 27 October 2015

If Carlsberg did chips.....probably the best I have eaten. Walked back to our B&B two nights on the run...whilst eating a bag of these chips..."perfect"

 

Email. 23 october 2015

 Just to let you know we visited your restaurant for tea on Sunday 23rd Oct, we enjoyed our meal and please pass on our thanks to your Staff, don't know names, but they where very friendly and pleasant. The service was fast and food was first class. Thanks again, we will be back. Best regards Ray Gregory

 

"Fish and chips at their best in Keswick"
 
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We were served freshly prepared fish and chips and they were scrumptious! It was the perfect meal after a full day walking the fells including Cat's Bell, High Spy and Dale Head. We bought our fish and chips around 9pm and were served immediately by friendly staff with a welcoming smile.

 

"Best ever"
 
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Went to the restaurant for fish and chip supper and was not disappointed in the least. I've eaten lots of fish and chips even in some famous places Padstow! This beats the lot it was delicious light batter covering perfectly cooked fish with crispy on the outside soft on the inside chips with proper mushy peas. Perfect

 

"Proper fish and chips"
 
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Although uninspiring from the outside and approached up a bland staircase, this place serves fantastic fish and chips. Really nice batter surrounding fresh tasty fish. So many places serve thickly coated fish which mainly consists of hard, greasy batter but not here. Friendly attentive staff too. Highly recommended.

 

‘The Round: in Bob Graham’s footsteps’

Extract 28th Sept 2015........ It was great to have Mike there, plus my wife Moira and son Josh. We repaired with some of our friends to the Dog and Gun for a celebratory drink and a chat, then for fantastic fish supper at the famous Old Keswickian chip shop, seated in style upstairs. The event venue, pub and food (all iconic Cumbria locations) were all within yards of each other in the centre of Keswick – an evening to savour.

 
 
"Always good"
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 May 2013 NEW

After another long day on the fells it would have been rude not to take the folk with me to the best chippy in The Lake District for a sit down meal. One of the party had poached fish and chips and reckoned it first rate, another battered fish and chips and rated it highly. I settled for pie & chips ... which was up to normal standard. Staff were run off their feet so no time for banter but they were efficient, friendly and quick. For those that drink tea ... it is very reasonably priced.

All-in-all a splendid end to the day. 


 

"The best fish & chips ever"
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 7 May 2013

I ate the best fish & chips ever! in 2 days i had it 3 times :) Perfect place. I will definitely back there ASAP! 


 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 March 2013

What a find this restaurant was!
Nothing special about the surroundings, but very clean and comfortable with a view across the town square.
Friendly, pleasant service, and the food arrived very quickly.
We both had cod, chips and mushy peas. The cod was very fresh and tasty, covered in feather light crispy batter, done to perfection. The chips were also perfectly cooked, hand cut, crispy and dry, just like they should be!
A good range of sauces on the table, capped off with a bill, with drinks, for a shade under £20.
Best fish and chips we've ever had, anywhere, we will definitely be back next time we visit!

Visited March 2013


 
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 December 2012

Delicious fish and chips, whether eat in or take-away. My father-in-law from Lincolnshire made this restaurant an annual pilgramage, and it never disappoints. Good wholesome food, and ideal for a warm-up when fresh off the hills, or as a treat when shopping. Friendly staff, quick service and a fresh pot of tea.  Good food at a good price.

  • Visited October 2012
 


 "Excellent - and a celebrity moment to boot!"

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Fish and chips how it should be, crispy and fresh. More importantly, perhaps, if you have a big party and don't all feel like fish and chips, The Old Keswickian has daily blackboard specials, including (when we ate there) 'proper' homemade burger with tangy cheddar and fried red onions (that diner said it was just how it should be, fresh and juicy) and (for me) tuna and mozarella goujons, which were surprisingly tasty and cooked just right, served with salad. Only loses a point because although I didn't want chips and asked for extra salad instead, the plate just had a big gap on it where the chips would have been, which was disappointing. The exciting moment came when we realised that Howard from Take That was sitting two tables away from us with his girlfriend and children, but I can't promise that level of excitement for every visit! Over all, if you want really good fish and chips, washed down with a decent cup of tea, and served efficiently (apart from the lack of extra salad), this is the place for you!


"The Great British Fish & Chip shop at its best"
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Well its a fish & chip shop, its in a great location, is reasonable priced with generous portions, there is a cafe upstairs and is very popular. Can get very busy at weekends and during the busy tourist period. Wouldn't hesistate to recommend. :)


"Fish and Chips as they should be"
Reviewed 27 December 2011

A "must do" on any visit to Keswick. Not to be missed. I never leave this one out.


"Best fish and chips in Keswick"

Reviewed 18 October 2011

Those chips are to die for! Nothing better than eating them on your way home from the pub - fantastic.


"brill chips"
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great grub again have been coming to keswick for the past 20 years always call in at the keswickian never been disapointed nice too see the same faces still there thanks again see you at christmas. 


 "Best Fish and chips in the Lake District”

Reviewed 29 June 2011

The title says it all and open late as well. Fantastic to come out of a pub and get good old fish and chips.....Heaven.


"Best mushy peas in the world”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Probably the best fish, chips and mushy peas we have had. We ate take away and in the upstairs restaurant, both good, Visited 3 times in a week.


"Brilliant!”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

On behalf of the six of us who abandoned the Pack Horse next door after we failed to get a dinner on time, I would like to thank the Old Keswickian Fish & Chip restaurant, who so brilliantly catered for us at about 9:45pm on a Friday evening. Will definitely go there again.
Food was delicious, service was excellent, and so, so reasonable.


Possibly the best fish and chips in the North?…The Old Keswickian, Keswick, Cumbria
by RICH on MAY 5, 2009

Some fish and chip shops are really very bad indeed. Some are just mediocre, and fail because of their mediocrity. Some are quite sensational. Others are part of a tradition or a routine, and are important because of that.

The Old Keswickian fits into both of the last two categories. A visit to The Old Keswickian is as much a part of a trip to the Lakes as throwing stones into Derwentwater is for the kids. To visit Keswick without visiting The Old Keswickian just wouldn’t do, and there’s good reason for this.

The fish and chips are extraordinarily good. The fish in particular is first rate – thick fillets of haddock fried in a substantial batter, the fish moist, the batter crisp and crunchy. The chips are fresh and hot, crisp on the outside, fluffy in the middle, which is all I need from a chip.

Everything is prepared with a confident and expert air. The fish fryer sweeps salt and vinegar across each portion with a neat and quick figure of eight motion, a smooth and practised movement that’s almost hypnotic.

This isn’t a cheap fish and chip shop. The price of fish and chips nudges a fiver, but this doesn’t matter when the food is this good.

You get what you pay for.

 

Copyright Old Keswickian Fish & Chip Shop, Take-out and Restaurant in Keswick